Jazz at Progress | Jazz Suite: Under Milk Wood | Buy tickets

Friday 12 July 2024 | Progress Theatre, Reading | 7: 30pm | £17.00 (£15.00 concessions) plus maximum 5% booking fee.


Ewen Baird tenor saxophone
Martin Pickett piano
Steve Kershaw double bass
Mike Goff drums
Siân Goff & Tom Neill narrators


Under Milk Wood

You’ve heard the original Radio Drama and seen the Play – now experience the Musical! OK, not exactly a musical – but read on…

In 1965, inspired by Dylan Thomas’ masterpiece, renowned pianist and composer Stan Tracey, ‘the godfather of British jazz’, composed Jazz Suite: Under Milk Wood – a beautifully constructed set of eight tunes, each with an unmistakably individual character, including the acknowledged genius of the tone-poem Starless and Bible Black.

Jazz in Reading – in collaboration with Progress Theatre – has arranged a performance of the work: Stan Tracey’s music interwoven with Dylan Thomas’ words. This is a rare opportunity to experience two musical and literary masterworks at their uplifting and life-affirming best.

“A friend of mine has attended every presentation of this performance to date having attended the previous five at Goring, Oxford, Marlow, Bracknell and Reading. He finds new treasures to enjoy on each occasion. So will you. This is not to be missed.” – Trevor Bannister